2019 CCAM header

52nd Chancellor's Council Annual Meeting and Symposium


Great Minds

UT institutions are making extraordinary breakthroughs in brain health. Please join us on Friday, April 26 to learn how researchers and health care providers at UT institutions across the state are making significant progress toward unraveling the mysteries of the brain.


Schedule at a Glance

Friday, April 26, 2019 

1:30 p.m. Arrivals and Check In Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Special Events Center
2:00 p.m. Pre-symposium Breakout Sessions  Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Special Events Center and The AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
3:30 p.m. Meeting and Symposium – Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Special Events Center
5:30 p.m. Reception – Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Special Events Center
Business Attire

Click here for invitation.



You may register by email to rsvp@utsystem.edu or by phone at 512-499-4277. Please respond by April 18, 2019. If responding by email or phone, please include your name, name of guest and any special accommodations requested. For those arriving early, please also indicate which pre-symposium breakout session you wish to attend.



Parking will be available in the Trinity Parking Garage and Lots 108 and 118, located near the Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Special Events Center. Shuttles will be provided to off-site venues. Click here for parking map.


Pre-symposium Breakout Sessions

2:00 p.m. Please come early and join us for pre-symposium education opportunities.

You may choose to attend one of the following sessions. Shuttle buses will depart the Erwin Center at 1:30 p.m. to take you to your session.

 Stroke of Genius


First, the bad news: stroke is now the fifth leading cause of death and the leading cause of adult disability in the U.S. Now, the good news: 80 percent of all strokes can be prevented. And, thanks to new research, we now know more than ever about how to limit neurological damage if a stroke does occur. Learn what you can do to prevent and identify a stroke and how UT physicians and researchers are helping stroke victims survive and thrive.

Moderator: David L. Callender MD, MBA, FACS - President, UT Medical Branch

Mark P. Goldberg, MD Professor of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics and Associate Vice President, Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute, UT Southwestern Medical Center

Seth Hays, PhD Fellow, Eugene McDermott Endowed Professorship and Director of Preclinical Research, Texas Biomedical Device Center, UT Dallas

Louise D. McCullough, MD, PhD Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology, McGovern Medical School, UTHealth  


Addressing Addiction


Few families are spared the pain and suffering of addiction, whether it involves tobacco, alcohol or drugs. The health, economic, emotional and societal problems caused by addiction can have a tragic impact on lives, families and even communities. Once attributed to a lack of willpower, addiction is now understood to be a treatable disease of the brain, and UT researchers are studying addiction at the cellular and behavioral levels. Find out how the latest research is leading to better prevention methods and treatment.

Moderator: Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD - President, UTHealth

Kathryn A. Cunningham, PhD - Vice Chair, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology and Director, Center for Addiction Research, UT Medical Branch

Adron Harris, PhD - Professor of Neuroscience, Waggoner Center for Alcohol and Addiction Research, UT Austin

Joy Schmitz, PhD - Director, Center for Neurobehavioral Research on Addiction, McGovern Medical School, UTHealth  


The Annual Meeting and Symposium

3:30 p.m. Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Special Events Center

State of the System and Program

Moderator: William L. Henrich, MD, MACP - President, UT Health San Antonio

The program will commence with a State of the System address by Chancellor James B. Milliken. Then join us as we put the spotlight on some of the most prevalent neurological disorders, take a deeper look into mental health challenges and share what some of the greatest minds at UT institutions are doing to address these issues, with two symposium panels:

James B. Milliken
Chancellor, UT System

Peace of Mind


Every 65 seconds, a person in the United States develops Alzheimer’s disease – the most common and well-known disease linked to dementia, a degenerative brain disorder that affects more than 47 million people worldwide. The toll dementia takes on individuals, caregivers and society is enormous and is expected to only worsen as the population ages. Fortunately, neuroscientists at UT institutions are playing a critical role in efforts to prevent and treat this devastating disease while raising awareness of the things we can do every day to help delay and diminish its effects.

Jenny Hsieh, PhD - Director, UTSA Brain Health Consortium, UT San Antonio

Brendan Kelley, MD - Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Neurology & Neurotherapeutics, UT Southwestern Medical Center

David Paydarfar, MD - Professor and Inaugural Chair of Neurology, Dell Medical School Interim Director, Mulva Clinic for the Neurosciences, UT Austin

Sudha Seshadri, MD - Founding Director, Glenn Biggs Institute for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Diseases, UT Health San Antonio

Mind Over Matter


Not so long ago, a mental health diagnosis was shrouded in shame, in part because of a lack of awareness about the biological causes of diseases like depression or bipolar disorder. Today, UT experts across multiple disciplines are working to better diagnose, prevent and treat the millions of Texans who suffer from mental illness. That includes offering innovative treatments and even leading a statewide initiative to improve the mental health system to ensure that those who need help get it.

Octavio N. Martinez, Jr., MD - Executive Director, Hogg Foundation for Mental Health, UT Austin

Jair Soares, MD, PhDProfessor & Chairman and Pat R. Rutherford, Jr. Chair in Psychiatry, UTHealth

Stephen M. Strakowski, MDAssociate Vice President, Regional Mental Health and Founding Chair & Professor of Psychiatry, Dell Medical School, UT Austin

Carol A. Tamminga, MDProfessor and Chairman, Department of Psychiatry and Chief of Translational Neuroscience Research, UT Southwestern Medical School



Chancellor's Council Reception

5:30 p.m. Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Special Events Center